Second Balancing Services Charges Task Force

The Second Balancing Services Charge Taskforce 

As you may be aware, Ofgem published their final decision and impact assessment on the Targeted Charging Review in November 2019. Ofgem made an important announcement on the work of the Balancing Services Task Force.

The first Task Force concluded that Balancing Services Charges should be treated as cost-recovery charges. In order to develop this work further, Ofgem have requested that there will be a second Balancing Services Task Force, led by National Grid ESO.

The Task Force will be tasked with applying the TCR principles to balancing services charges as a cost-recovery charge to consider how they should be recovered. The second Task Force will be asked to look at two specific questions:

  • Who should be liable for Balancing Services Charges, and;
  • How should these charges be recovered.

The ESO will be leading and providing coordination and administrative (secretariat) support for the Task Force.  The scope for the Task Force and timetable for delivery of the outputs can be found in the terms of reference.



To view the meeting papers, presentations, webinars, and podcasts please visit the resources page


Getting in touch 

If you have any questions about any of the Second Balancing Services Charges Task Force, please don't hesitate to ask us:


The Second Task Force meeting dates:

Date  Event Location
30 January 2020 TF Meeting 1 Amba Hotel, Charing Cross, London
12 February 2020 TF Meeting 2 Amba Hotel, Charing Cross, London
25 February 2020 TF Meeting 3 ENA, London
11 March 2020 TF Meeting 4 ENA, London
19 March 2020 (TBC) Webinar WebEx
01 April 2020 TF Meeting 5 ENA, London
05 May 2020 TF Meeting 6 ENA, London
19 May 2020 TF Meeting 7 ENA, London
26 May 2020 Webex – Finalise report WebEx


The Second Task Force members are detailed below:

Name Organisation Role within Task Force
Colm Murphy National Grid ESO Chair   
Joseph Henry National Grid ESO Technical Secretary
Jon Wisdom National Grid ESO Task Force Member
Andrew Rimmer Engie Task Force Member
Lisa Waters Waters Wye Task Force Member
Olaf Islei Shell Energy Task Force Member
Tom Steward Good Energy Task Force Member
Joshua Logan Drax Group Task Force Member
John Tindal SSE Plc Task Force Member
George Moran Centrica Task Force Member
Simon Cowdroy RES Task Force Member
George Douthwaite RWE Npower Task Force Member
Caroline Bragg ADE Task Force Member
Keith Munday Bryte Energy Task Force Member
Paul Jones Uniper Task Force Member
Joseph Underwood Energy UK Task Force Member
Tom Edwards Cornwall Insight Task Force Member
Grace March Sembcorp Task Force Member